Bookmark this site | E-mail this to a friend | Home Page

Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM)

ARMM Philippines, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-TawiThe Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao or ARMM consists of Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao and the islands of Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi.

Lanao del Sur

Marawi City is a rolling terrain and has most of the attractions of Lanao del Sur. One such attraction is the Moncado Colony in Cadingilan. Another is the tomb of Jose Abad Santos, martyred for his refusal to lead the wartime puppet government during the Japanese occupation. Tugaya town is said to produce the best brassware in the Philippines. The Singkil dance with the two clapping poles originated in Lanao del Sur. Other sites include the Kilometer Zero Point Marker, from which all distances in Mindanao are measured, the Aga Khan Museum, and the Mindanao State University. Lake Lanao is the second largest and deepest lake in the Philippines.


During the 15th Century, Cotobato was ruled by Sultans and the most famous one was Sultan Kudarat who ruled Maguindanao for about 30 years during the 17th Century. Today, the main attraction of Maguindanao is the Rio Grande de Mindanao, the second largest river in the country. Aquatic events are held in the river to celebrate the Shariff Kabunsuan Festival, the Feast of Hariraya Puasa and the Guinakit Festival.

Cotobato City has the longest recorded history of Mindanao, with records as far back as the 14th Century when Islam was introduced to the natives by Shariff Kabunsuan. Other historical sites include P.C. Hill, a stone fort with a height of 27.4 meters (90 feet), Tamontaka Church, a century-old Spanish church, and Takumi Butai Memorial Shrine, a monument honoring Japanese soldiers who died there in World War 2.


Basilan is the home of the Yakans who are known for their weaving artistry, ornate festivals, and intricate wedding ceremonies. Historical attractions include the Kalun's Shrine, a Yakan leader, the museum of Lamitan, the capitol building of Isabela, the Menzi Rubber Plantation and the Santa Isabel Cathedral. Natural attractions include the Malamawi Island, the beaches of Balas, Palm and Sumagdang, and the waterfalls of Bulingan, Maloong, Kumalarang and Block 35.


The Sulu Archipelago in the Sulu Sea stretches from Southwest Mindanao to Sabah in Malaysia. The people living there are mostly self-sufficient sea people and predominantly Muslim. Jolo is the capital of Sulu, and has exotic markets and excellent beaches, including Quezon and Tagbili.


Tawi-Tawi is an island group with interesting sites and friendly inhabitants. Main attractions include the Provincial Capitol Building in Bongao, which has a traditional Muslim architecture, and Sitangkay, also known as the 'Venice of the East' for its houses that are built on stilts above water. Natural attractions include Mt. Bongao, the beaches of Tahing-Tahing and Sangay Siapo, and exotic wildlife including monkeys, birds, wild pigs and cattle.

You are currently in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao. See the other regions in the Philippines:

Region 1 - Ilocos | Region 2 - Cagayan Valley | Cordillera Administrative Region |
Region 3 - Central Luzon | National Capital Region | Region 4 - Southern Tagalog |
Region 5 - Bicol | Region 6 - Western Visayas | Region 7 - Central Visayas |
Region 8 - Eastern Visayas | Region 9 - Western Mindanao | Region 10 - Northern Mindanao | Region 11 - Southern Mindanao | Region 12 - Central Mindanao | Region 13 - Caraga | Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao

Flight Helpful Tips | Download Price List (40kb Excel file)
Tour the Philippines | Philippine Festivals | Home Page



Other Services


Philippine Real Estate

Real Estate Philippines
Homes for sale in the Philippines

Accommodation and Rent-a-car in the Philippines

The Buddy Plaza Apartel Inn

Filipino Accountant in the U.S. for Hire

Let us prepare your taxes


Copyright © 2008 Balikbayan Services Center