Bookmark this site | E-mail this to a friend | Home Page

Region 2 - Cagayan Valley

Region 2 Philippines, Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, QuirinoCagayan Valley has five provinces and three cities. The most dominant trait of the region is the Cagayan River, the largest waterway in the Philippines. Cagayan Valley is considered as an adventurer's paradise, with its intricate cave systems, rugged mountain peaks, white water rapids and beautiful beaches.


Batanes is an island group in the most northern and isolated province in the Philippines. The unpredictability of the weather makes traveling to Batanes difficult, thus preserving its unspoiled beauty. Among the natural wonders of this place includes endangered fauna, volcanic peaks, caves, sea cliffs and sandy beaches. Unique wildlife includes the tatus (coconut crab) and migratory birds from China. Structures with Spanish influence remain here such as the San Jose and San Carlos Borromeo Churches. Adventure seekers find Batanes great for surfing, trekking and spelunking.


Cagayan Province is best known for the seven-chambered Callao Caves. Adventurers come to Cagayan for game fishing, mountain trekking, river trips and surfing. Popular sites include Palaui's Spanish built Cape Engano Lighthouse, the Magapit Suspension Bridge, St. Peter's Cathedral and the Miraculous Lady of Piat, a four centuries-old image of the Virgin Mary, brought by Dominican Friars from Macao in 1604. The mouth of the Cagayan River is located in Aparri. The Cagayan River is the longest and widest in the nation, and is home to the 'lurung' fish which travels upstream to breed during the wet season.


Isabela Province is best known for its uncharted forest wilderness, including the Northern Sierra National Park. The Palanan Rainforest is one of the world's largest remaining low altitude rainforest. Isabela also has the Magat Hydro Electric Power Plant, East Asia's largest dam project. Other popular sites include Spanish churches in Tumauini, Alicia and Gamu, and the Aguinaldo Shrine in Palanan, built to commemorate the spot where General Emilio Aguinaldo was captured by American Forces in 1901.

Nueva Vizcaya

Nueva Vizcaya is a mountainous province home to the Mt. Pulog National Park where the country's second highest mountain, Mt. Pulog (3,000 meters), is located. World War 2 memorials include the Dalton Pass and the Kirang Pass. Old Spanish Churches include St. Dominic Cathedral and Dupax del Sur Church. Adventure and eco-tourism sites include the Lion-Alayan Cave and the Kayapa town.


Quirino Province is known for its natural sites, wildlife and adventure. Natural sites include the Bisangal Waterfalls, Victoria Falls, the Nagbukel and Aglipay Caves and Nagtipunan virgin rainforest. Governor Rapids is an ideal spot for white water rafting, swimming and fishing.

You are currently in Region 2. See the other regions in the Philippines:

Region 1 - Ilocos | Region 2 - Cagayan Valley | Cordillera Administrative Region |
Region 3 - Central Luzon | National Capital Region | Region 4 - Southern Tagalog |
Region 5 - Bicol | Region 6 - Western Visayas | Region 7 - Central Visayas |
Region 8 - Eastern Visayas | Region 9 - Western Mindanao | Region 10 - Northern Mindanao | Region 11 - Southern Mindanao | Region 12 - Central Mindanao | Region 13 - Caraga | Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao

Flight Helpful Tips | Download Price List (40kb Excel file)
Tour the Philippines | Philippine Festivals | Home Page



Other Services


Philippine Real Estate

Real Estate Philippines
Homes for sale in the Philippines

Accommodation and Rent-a-car in the Philippines

The Buddy Plaza Apartel Inn

Filipino Accountant in the U.S. for Hire

Let us prepare your taxes


Copyright © 2008 Balikbayan Services Center